Creating Art With Code

Get a peek into creator Kass Sanchez’s early versions, crafting art with code.

Creating Art With Code

Hey,

Today we’ll get a peek into creator Kass Sanchez’s early versions, crafting art with code.

If you’re exploring, building or looking to switch things up - this is for you.

I mean, just take a look…

Meet Kass

Kassandra Sanchez is a self-taught Sr. Front End Developer and CSS artist.

Kass started to create art with CSS (Cascading Style Sheets) during her 100 Days of Code challenge.

Her artwork centers around photorealism and she’s currently working on a course to help teach others.

Kass currently works at an agency creating cool websites for cool companies.

Idea

How did you get into CSS Art?

When I first got on Twitter/X, I came across a creator posting CSS Art. I was in absolute awe.

Coming from an architecture background with a heavy emphasis on hand drawing while also being obsessed with photorealistic art, I decided to give it a try.

I learned everything that I could about it.

I read blogs and studied everything that Lynn Fisher shared (definitely check out her work and website, they are incredible), until I felt comfortable enough to try it out.

I started by creating single div art, which is basically stacking gradients and using pseudo elements.

After that, it just turned into the obsession that you see today.

How do you come up with project ideas? From ‘loading’ elements → animations → to the incredible photorealistic, complex art that we see today.

I love looking for inspiration everywhere.

Sometimes I’ll get on Pinterest and look at cool electronic designs, other times I’ll get inspiration from the real world.

I recently got a really neat text style idea from watching my husband play FIFA.

Inspiration can really come from anywhere!

Do you create a plan with a minimal first version in mind or jump straight into building?

It is semi-important to have a roadmap. But it’s not as difficult as one might think.

I just look at the item that I want to draw and mentally break it up into different components and blocks.

Then I just start.

Build

How long did it take to create v1?

The Teenage Electronics Synthesizer took about 5 hours. There are many similar elements in the design. Most of the buttons have the same box shadows and Neumorphic style applied to them.

The Polaroid took at least 10 hours. There are just so many small details to it.

Every project has a version history (some more chaotic than others!), did you iterate before sharing in public?

No iterating. I just keep building and adding, until I complete each project.

It’s just like drawing.

Take a look at my website and you’ll see that I have a scrolling animation of my process.

It’s almost like watching a printer work.

Share

Do you share v1s and build the rest in public or prefer showcasing final versions of art? Are you ever nervous to share your creations?

I really only showcase the final versions of my art. Sometimes I will post previews of the art in progress but mostly I just show the end result.

I am never nervous about sharing in public because I get so excited about the CSS Art that I create.

I just want to share that excitement with everyone else.

If anything, it is hard to stop myself from posting them before they are completely done.

What are your goals in sharing CSS Art?

My goal in sharing CSS Art is just to have fun with it and inspire others like I was inspired.

I love to create things that make people go “wow how did they do that?” because I love seeing other projects and thinking the same thing.

That is what I strive for.

What was the feedback like?

The feedback was amazing!

I could not be more thankful for all of the support I have received.

Has creating and sharing in public changed you in any way?

Sharing and creating in public has changed my life in so many ways!

I am able to get jobs a lot easier, I constantly meet new people through my work and I have learned so much from the community around it.

I cannot recommend sharing your work publicly enough. It really has been life changing.

Keep learning, stay curious and have fun with whatever you do.

Future 

I noticed an artistic style for photorealism develop over time, how has your style evolved?

I was always obsessed with photorealism, I just wasn’t as good at it yet 🙂 

What you notice is not so much a change in artistic sense, but an improvement in skill!

What are you looking to build in the future?

I am currently working on a really neat photorealistic CSS Art project for a company.

It’s for a company that created an API that can seamlessly work with actual physical products.

I would also like to learn more about 3D Rendering and ThreeJS and would like to give a huge shoutout to Bruno Simon for his ThreeJS course. It is incredible.

Who inspires you to create and share?

Thanks for reading!

I think you’ll agree that Kass is an incredible code-artist-creator. Stay tuned for her upcoming course. Until then, her Codepen is here to inspire us all. Check out all the links!

Also, this letter is a v1 itself.

All feedback is very welcome, hit ‘reply’ and let’s work on creating v2.

See you next week - Ashni