• version 1
  • Posts
  • Getting Playful with Design and Data

Getting Playful with Design and Data

Walk through Olive Haus’s early versions of BawkBox.

Hey,

Late one night, I fell down the X rabbit hole (I know, terrible habit, but what-can-do) and bam! My eyes were dazzled by some seriously vivid posts.

Once my vision adjusted, I discovered some of the most playful and unique designs that I've ever come across on X. They were build-in-public posts by creator Olive Haus *cue frantic clicking of every link in her bio*.

Curiosity piqued, I clicked on BawkBox, one of her products, and found myself face-to-screen with one of the most creative landing pages ever.

Mystery? Check.

Design? Double check.

What did her v1s look like? I just had to know.

I mean, just take a look at this landing page…

Meet Olive

Olive Haus is a build-in-public entrepreneur who started sharing her journey back in January 2023.  

Her product BawkBox is wildly popular with the build-in-public community. Creators use it to generate X growth analytics templates for their accounts.

She has an upcoming launch scheduled for a series of Airtable apps. 

So buckle up, folks – today we're diving into Olive's design journey, exploring early versions of BawkBox and getting the scoop on upcoming launches.

If you've seen her posts on X, you know we're in for a treat!

Idea

How did you start building in public? Did that lead to the idea for BawkBox?

I first started out on X (formerly Twitter) with #buildinpublic towards the end of January 2023.

Initially, I planned to build and release a series of Airtable apps (launching soon!) but never anticipated building a side project like BawkBox.

Before BawkBox, there was a previous product of mine called Birdgaze. It was a small collection of blank design templates.

I created Birdgaze after receiving positive feedback on a post I shared on X, of my April account analytics just 3 months after starting on my build-in-public journey.

I thought, “why not make this into a product?” and started to build.

I was noticing a trend of creators wanting to share their account growth analytics at the start of each month.  

The idea sort of presented itself when others expressed a desire for something I had created (which was super neat)!

I also just really enjoy creating images.

Olive’s post on X that led to v1 of Birdgaze

Interesting! v1 of Birdgaze came before the Bawkbox we see today. What was that launch like?

I created a small offering of design templates for users to showcase their X account analytics.

I made my first online dollar within the first 24 hours of it going live!

Birdgaze was my very first product and the idea felt validated.

To my dismay, I came across a prominent competitor shortly after the launch of Birdgaze. I honestly wondered if it was the death knell for my project 🥺

I knew that Birdgaze in its current form, wasn’t unique in any meaningful way apart from its avian aesthetic. There are thousands of design templates available on Gumroad.

I wasn’t sure if it was still worth pursuing. The experience of building and shipping was super-duper new to me.

I felt like an imposter.

I decided to share my dilemma with the community and the outpouring of support I received was incredibly encouraging.

Resolved to soldier on, I focused exclusively on what made Birdgaze different from the competition.

As uncomfortable as having a competitor was, it forced me to grow and to critically rethink my project. 

I had to really evaluate its strengths and weaknesses, and that’s what created the possibility for it to become something completely new: BawkBox.

It was during this time that I came up with the idea of a monthly mystery box.

For BawkBox, did you create a plan with a minimal first version in mind or jump straight into building?

BawkBox involved detailed prep and build.

Template designs went through tons of iterations. The monthly-mystery-box concept involved careful planning and the infrastructure required several rounds of fine-tuning.

I knew that I wanted the mystery templates to auto-generate with stats and for users to get one free roll every month, alongside new design installments.

But I didn’t really know how to make any of those features work 😅 

At first, the whole operation was loosely held together by digital duct tape.

Personally, an overall concept or action plan can be valuable but things often deviate and need adapting as the project gets built.

Hammering down a core idea of the project helps guide its development but sometimes being agile is just as valuable.

Did you have the skills required to build BawkBox or need to learn along the way? Did this process help you upskill?

I had zero experience with digital products apart from website building, social media services and some graphic design sense when I started BawkBox.

I needed to learn loads!

I studied JavaScript, learned about serverless solutions because of CORS restrictions, discovered Jimp for image generation and so much more.

Creating, shipping and maintaining a product has absolutely helped increase my skills in all areas.

It’s been a huge source of both personal and professional growth. 

I now have the experience and confidence to draw on for future projects, which is invaluable.

Build

What is your builder stack?

When I first started building: I knew Elementor, MailerLite and a little WordPress. I had some background in HTML/CSS/JavaScript but can’t say I was proficient with them.

It’s really amazing how ChatGPT changed all of that. 

Throughout my build-in-public journey, I’ve used ChatGPT like a mentor with the power of Google search.

I’ve expanded my toolset to include: JavaScript, Jimp, Node.js, Google Apps Script, Pipedream (and other serverless solutions). I’ve even dabbled in PHP for more recent projects.

BawkBox specifically uses Google Sheets and Apps Script, Elementor, MailerLite and Pipedream. The specific languages that make it work are Node.js, JavaScript, and PHP.

I’ve been wanting to learn Framer and would also like to swap MailerLite for Loops but I just haven’t had the time.

How long did it take to create v1 of BawkBox (v2 of Birdgaze)?

Birdgaze took only 48 hours from concept to first sale. It was a whirlwind!

On the contrary, BawkBox took about three weeks between plan and build. Executing on my vision was time-consuming but I was fueled by my own excitement. It kind of took over my life 🙃

I originally wanted to release BawkBox around the first week of June (to coincide with creators sharing the previous month’s analytics) but there were a bunch of hiccups and I delayed by a few weeks.

I had to build the website from scratch. Setup numerous scripts and forms. Somehow auto-generate images and figure out a distribution method.

It took a while but when it came together and was functional, it felt like such an accomplishment.

v1 BawkBox Template Designs

Every project has a version history (some more chaotic than others!), did you iterate on the design featured in Birdgaze to what we see in BawkBox?

Birdgaze didn’t start off quirky or fowl-themed, and it didn’t even have a landing page!

The templates were blank with no auto-generated or prefilled stats to start because I didn’t have any earthly idea on how to do that.

I only had a Gumroad product page with .zip files that contained a 5-pack of gradient or retro-themed templates. All templates were free except for a 10-pack without watermarks available for $2.

When Birdgaze hatched into BawkBox, it went through a ton of aesthetic changes before ever seeing the light of day. From the website, to its design, theme and everything in-between!

Even the website flip boxes were a last-minute addition.

I cycled through fonts, content boxes, backgrounds, rarity icons and tested different themes for the templates. Once I settled on the chicken-theme, the quirkiness dialed right up to a 10.

I leaned into it more and more each month until arriving at this magical amalgamation of poultry-inspired goodness 🐔

How did you select your project names?

Birdgaze was completely spontaneous.

BawkBox was briefly called Bird Box but I knew that couldn’t last long due to post-apocalyptic connotation.

The name BawkBox came to me when I couldn’t sleep as well as a license for eccentricity that really makes it fit.

Another of many insomnia-inspired gems.

It must be very challenging to create when platforms are constantly changing integrations or adding new features (Airtable features or Twitter to X API changes). How do you handle this?

The Twitter to X analytics disruptions have been problematic for BawkBox.

It more or less derailed the first half of this month (September 2023) which is typically the most active usage period for this product.

I’m currently pivoting to deal with the sudden disappearance of the robust 28-day and previous-month summaries.

I had just added the 28-day and custom-day summaries to last month’s box to combat the unreliability of previous-month summaries but c’est la vie!

I plan to continue adapting BawkBox as needed but it’s a challenging landscape at the moment due to X analytics being in a constant state of flux.

Share

Do you share v1s and build the rest in public or prefer showcasing final versions? Are you ever nervous to share your creations?

The first time anyone laid eyes on Birdgaze and BawkBox, they were completed products.

I didn’t share build details prior to release other than the occasional teaser.

Part of that was due to active competition but also partly due to my perfectionism, especially when it comes to design.

I know there will be countless iterations before I arrive at a final version.

I did give a sneak peek at BawkBox with my May analytics post, but no one knew what they were looking at!

I was exceptionally nervous to even share a final product! It felt like carving out a piece of myself and leaving it on the table. 

That feeling has since softened over time but it was incredibly nerve-wracking to share my work at first - especially something I felt pride over and worked really hard on.

My process throughout this entire journey has been to push through the discomfort and deal with it moment to moment.

I try to trust the process. The process being the reassurance that I will emerge from whatever adversity on the other side.

I’ve gained so much personal insight and have been able to show myself that the world won’t end after making a mistake or revealing an imperfection. I honestly wasn’t sure of that before experiencing it.

What are your goals in sharing BawkBox (and future Airtable apps)?

BawkBox has truly been a passion project.

I’ve had a blast creating the website and the silly fowl-themed designs each month.

It’s been a valuable creative outlet for me and a way to flex my design muscles without limitation.

A way for me to express my own design style that is as authentically me as possible.

I also wanted to give the community something fun and playful to interact with. It’s something to look forward to each month.

As a pedigreed introvert, it’s been a way for me to connect with others. Through design, instead of conversation.

What was the feedback like for these projects?

The feedback for Birdgaze was better than I’d hoped! Making my first online dollar within 24 hours of its launch, was pretty dang neat.

Somehow, the reception to BawkBox topped Birdgaze and only improved over time!

It was surreal to see the community actually posting about and using something I made.

The start of each month started to feel a bit like Christmas. More and more users claimed their rolls and posted templates.

I’m so incredibly grateful for all the support I’ve received.

Has creating and sharing in public changed you in any way?

It’s led to profound personal growth that I can’t overstate 🌱 I’m a huge introvert with an even bigger inner perfectionist and little experience with putting myself out there.

Creating and sharing in public has bolstered my confidence, led to incredible opportunities and shown me that I’m capable of doing the things I set out to do.

Sharing and being vulnerable every day has been immensely difficult and uncomfortable at times. Pushing through and being consistent has proven to be a reward in itself.

The experience I gained from BawkBox opened the door for me to design testimonial templates for Senja, which has been yet another leap out of my comfort zone!

It took a lot of repetition but I’ve learned that doing my best is always enough. 

Perfect really is the enemy of good.

Future

You showcase an incredible skill in design. How did you develop your distinctive style over time?

I’ve always been a visual person. My mind speaks in imagery and I have an eye for spotting flaws.

Sharing BawkBox and receiving positive feedback honestly gave me so much more design confidence, especially with how offbeat and out there it is. It’s helped me hone and flex my creativity.

BawkBox has allowed me to be loud, playful and eccentric. I’ve explored different styles of expression.

I push the envelope a little more each month and it’s bled over into my general style and personal branding.

Sneak peek at new BawkBox features

What are you looking to build in the future?

BawkBox has a few new features I’ll be releasing very shortly.

I’m also looking to expand my design services in the near future.

I’ve been working up to my Airtable apps launch this entire time. Launch day is near!

BawkBox has become, in essence a marketing tool for what’s to come.

What does your zone to build look like?

Snacks, ambient lighting, electronic music (usually on shameless repeat) and my doggo underfoot are all building necessities 🐶🎧

Iced coffee is also non-negotiable. Coffee-flavored boba’s are even better!

Who inspires you to create and share?

My friends on X really inspire me to keep creating and sharing. Their continued support motivates me to be vulnerable and continue growing. I get so excited to improve upon and make new things for them!

Thanks for reading!

It’s impossible to not look forward to Olive’s build-in-public posts and products on your timeline! Stay tuned for her upcoming launches.

If you want to share a v1 or recommend another, hit ‘reply’ and let me know!

See you next week - Ashni

PS: Say hi on X!